Forums  |   Classifieds  |   Pictures  |   Captive FAQ  |   Articles  |   Chat  |   Users  |   Dealers  |   T-shirts  | Contact Us  |   Links  |   Home
Captive Bred Monitor Forum :  Varanus.net The fastest message board... ever.
You may post messages concerning captive bred and captive breeding monitor lizards.This is not a place to post animals for sale, wanted ads, or any other commercial material. Please only use pictures that you own. If you are using others pictures, credit must be given to the owner. All posts found in violation of these rules will be deleted, without discussion. 
Re: For Sherie on feeding
Posted by: FR (IP Logged)
Date: November 06, 2017 10:02AM

You always do great, only I would have worded it backwards, from what you did, but then, I tend to live in this world a bit backwards, go figure.

I would have put, the base diet first, like whole rodents, birds, as a primary diet, but can also feed those other items from time to time. I have no experience with worms, but they indeed may be included in the base diet.

Also, I never dusted, calcium or vitamins, when feeding rodents, there is absolutely no need for that. Which can mean over time, dusting can contribute to problems. On the otherhand, its necessary with small monitors, with a cricket diet. Well not exactly necessary, but dang close.

With medium sized monitors, lets start with Flavis, as when they hatch some are too small for pinks, so they will eat crickets for a couple feedings, then on rodents for the rest of their lives. The medium to larger species, have no need for insects and they only hold them back.

For Sherie, if she is reading this. We set growth and reproduction records that have not ever been bettered or even reached with any other diet. That is, they can grow strong, fast, reproduce well etc, on only rodents. That does not mean you can't do what Carla does, Offer fun foods. I just want you to understand, those fun foods are LESS then, not more then.